Niobe ship layout

All discussion related to the Crimson Dark webcomic (at crimsondark.com)
Shagrat

Niobe ship layout

Post by Shagrat » Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:56 pm

I'm new to Crimson, started at the begining and have only got to page 28, but there seems to be a glaring -and so far correctable - fault in the internal layout of Niobe:
In the ship diagram, the dining room is inboard in the starboard hull and next to a canon turret on the portside hull. It is also separated from the kitchen by the entire length of the crew quarters section. Have you ever seen any real [wet] ship, mobile home, house, hotel, train, or fortress where the kitchen is far from the dining area? [Except Montecello]
Also, for very practical military reasons a gun turret must be mounted above all obstructions yet the view out the dining room window on p.28 is wide open - no turret.
There seems to me to be one easy fix for both: Move the diagrammed location of the dinning room to the outboard of the starboard hull, across the corridor from the kitchen and just forward of the lounge. The dinning room view is unobstructed and the scene on p.28 works with the [new] supposed layout of the ship [nobody seems to care much if the kitchen staff get a view] and both gun turrets can be mounted high enough for clear shooting.

:idea: Hmm - what about a belly gun? Do all threats promise to come from 'above' ?

Enough carping. I'm going back to read some more. This seems to be as close as we're going to get to a Serenity Trilogy :cry:

Lokekar Kra

Re: Niobe ship layout

Post by Lokekar Kra » Sat Apr 02, 2011 11:10 pm